Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Welcome to Adams County!

Adams County was established by the state legislature in 1851 and named in honor of the second President of the United States, John Adams, or his son, the sixth President, John Quincy Adams (sources differ). The county was finally organized and separated from Pottawattamie County on March 12, 1853. Its original size was later reduced by the creation of Montgomery and Union counties.

The first county seat was Quincy. In 1872, it was moved to Corning.

Learn more >

Courthouse Address:

500 9th Street
Corning, Iowa 50841


Mon-Fri: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

County Attorney
Mon-Thurs: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Friday: 8:30 am to Noon

Veteran’s Affairs
Mon-Thurs: 8:00 am to 11:00 am

State Offices
Mon-Fri: 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Law Enforcement



Donate Personal Protective Equipment to Assist in COVID-19 Response

Alert Iowa is a statewide mass notification and emergency messaging system used to quickly disseminate emergency information. The notification system is available, free of charge, to all Adams County residents.

Sign up for Alert Iowa.

Crossroad Behavioral Health

24/7 Mental Health Crisis Line


Stay Connected

Cities of Adams County